Testimonials

 "We were very impressed by the spotlessly clean, modern accommodation. A beautiful place to stay with wonderful views. Thank you."

Roger and Annabel 2009

 

Very comfortable and exceptionally well appointed apartment. Many thanks for a great stay.
David & Vanessa, May '15
Lovely stay, very clean and comfortable. Thanks for eggs, milk + bread on arrival. Lovely quiet spot. Loved the little cottage. Owners very helpful and friendly.
Alison & Mike, western Australia April '15
Would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful vacation, so cosy and quiet, would like to thank Beth & Glyn for being so friendly + helpful and will be back in the near future. Thank you once again + can't wait to come back.
Karen & Steven, West Coast Scotland March '15
Cosy just like home. This is second stay here in (Little) Summerhill Cottages. It is the best place to stay in the UK. See you in summer.
Y. Kwon, Kingston Feb. '1`5
Thank you Beth for making our Christmas week so enjoyable. Very clean, warm & cosy - it met all our requirements. Everything is provided - greatly appreciated.
Marcia & Harry, Charlotte, USA Dec. '14
We received a warm welcome to this delightful little cottage. There was crisp white linen in the bedroom. lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom, a very well equipped kitchen. A real "HOME FROM HOME" if not better. Also enjoyed the eggs for our breakfast. Definite 5 stars rating in our opinion. Thank you so much!!
Dean & Amanda, Shrewsbury, Nov. '14
Thank you so much for a faultless stay in your lovely cottage with beautiful surroundings. Fantastic hospitality. A perfect weekend, will definitely be recommending to others!
Emma & Matt, Lincolnshire Oct. '14
Lovely to be back. The hospitality is as good as ever & we enjoyed every minute despite the weather. Thank you Beth & Glyn. We will be back.
Joan & Colin N.Wales Oct. '14
Perfect! Beth even organised a sunset for us!
Lynn & Derek, Cambridge Sept. '14
Thank you. Perfect cottage, very quiet and peaceful. Very cosy, clean and well equipped. Fantastic weekend We will come back one day.
Leonoe (Portugal) & Marcin (Poland) August '14
Lovely cottage, had an amazing time, lovely area. The most amazing scenery, so relaxing, loved watching the cows and their calves. Would recommend to friends & family and would love to stay again. Many thanks
Paul & Inna Somerset, July '14
Beth & Glyn are the most lovely, friendly, inviting people you would ever meet. Nothing is a bother to them and they feel like old friends when we came back. Have a lovely life Beth Glyn &family you really deserve it. The scenery is wonderful and we shall call it a draw between home and here. We shall be back.
Ted & Heather, Northumberland July '14
Nothing we can say that hasn't been said many times before. Beech Cottage is a dream holiday home in a dream location. We loved our brief taste of living in the country. Many thanks for all the extra finishing touches.
Anne & David,Suffolk, June '14
We don't want to leave. Best of the best, such a lovely cottage + area + hospitality. Can't ask for much more, we shall be back. Thank you for everything.x
Charlotte & Ibraheem,Walthamstow, June '14
We have had a lovely relaxing break in an area we knew very little about and we have had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect, the cottage the best we've stayed in (about 11 in all). You pay your money and take a chance and this one more than delivered. Clean, well equipped, everything worked, private and oh so quiet!!! Just what we needed. Thank you so much. Even had time to read a whole book GREAT!! Following visitors - if you do nothing else you must drive the road from Buxton to Leek its absolutely breathtaking!!!
Frances & Jim, Trowbridge June,'14
Thank you for your amazing, generous hospitality. We have had such a wonderful holiday with this beautiful cottage as a delightful home from home. Thank you for such life long memories.
Charlotte & Grant, Durham, June '14
There was a time when we left Summerhill to return home. Now we just leave one home to return to another and leave our second family to rejoin the first. We hope that the Plant family enjoys Monte C. as much as we enjoy Dilhorne. Thanks to the whole Plant family!! P.S. Maybe Glyn will get to bed on time now that we've left!
Joan & Stan, Georgetown, Canada May '14
A very clean, up to date high standard cottage, gives a cosy feeling thanks to the beautiful wallpaper and nice colours, in a farm-feeling surroundings. We loved the area & the owners are very friendly. Thanks Beth * Glyn!
Eric & Vivianne, Antwerp, April'14
Lovely cottage, clean and comfortable, warm welcome with everything you could think of. Little touches flowers, milk, eggs and bread. Lovely views and areas. Thank you for relaxing break.
Ronnie & Denise, Fakenham March'14
It is such a beautiful cottage in such a lovely area. We will definitely be coming here again. Thank you for all your help and the little present you left for us. I am actually quite sad to go. We will definitely be buying some eggs from you/
Nochola & Dave, Newcastle March,'14
Having a busy like and living on a busy main road, it has been so good to be in such a peaceful place. We have really appreciated you help in so many ways Beth and will tell our friends and family what a delightful place this is to stay. May you continue to prosper in everything you do. PS Never tasted such good eggs. Thank you
George & Sandra, Bolton, Feb.'14
Thank you! We have had a relaxing weekend, beautiful cottage, surroundings. God bless all that you are doing here and fill your life with abundance.
Cheryl & Alan,Nottingham Nov.'13
Thank you Beth & Glyn for always a warm welcome & the pleasurable extra: flowers, milk, bread. The tornado didn't happen, just usual Peak weather- the odd shower, a greyness, but wee had a fine walk down the Manifold Valley - not a soul or cycle for 4 miles & a walk today in Dimmingsdale in golden sunshine. The autumn colour in the beech, birch and larch trees are very beautiful. Fine performance by "Northern Broadside" at the New Vic. Thank you again Beth & Glyn - we appreciate your cottages enormously.
Frank & Chris Oct.2013
Lovely cottage, just what we needed. Thank you to Beth for the warm welcome. Bread and milk - kind touch! Will recommend our friends & family xx
Darren & Lizzie Oct. 2013
What a wonderful break we have had in a stunning cottage - we will see you again soon.
Andy & Sylia Oct. 2013
We have enjoyed this week in your cottage very much! It is clean and tidy, well organised and you gave us a warm welcome. Thank you for this! We were very lucky with the weather and the area is marvellous!
Klonig, Germany April,2015
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage. We had a fantastic holiday despite the weather being so wet for the first few days. The cottage was perfect for our family, the wet room was ideal for my husband and the boys enjoyed their own space upstairs. Look forward to seeing you again in October.
Salter family April 2015
Finding a wheelchair accessible cottage with wetroom and facilities for dad with his limited mobility is always a struggle, so finding this cottage in exact location we wanted so dad could visit with old friends and family was a minor miracle! The warm friendly and helpful welcome and hospitality has made this an exceptional little break for all of us. The accommodation itself clean, cosy, warm and very well organised offered us all the facility for a relaxing break visiting old stomping ground. Thank you.
Butlers Nov. 2014
Awesome stay and great hospitality. Really appreciated all the extra care taken by Beth & family. Pleased with the guest amenities provided and made us feel at home. 10/10
Sundararaman family Sept.2014
Booked this as a base for 2 nights so we could enjoy a full day at Alton Towers. Thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful and peaceful cottage. Unfortunately our trip has not allowed us to enjoy what the area has to offer but will definitely be recommending to family/friends. Thanks for the hospitality
Jappy family, Sept. 2014
We had a splendid 4 night stay here in Chestnut Cottage. The cottage is amazing, absolutely everything has been thought of. All those little extras mean sooo much. You're a grand couple. Top score 10 out of 10. Would highly recommend.
The Jenkinsons, August 2014
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Chestnut Cottage. After a painfully long 7 hour journey (which should have only been 3 hours - due to traffic!) it was a pleasant surprise to arrive at an immaculate and very comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much Beth for all the arrangements for my toddlers, I cannot thank you enough for you going the extra mile to ensure their safety. The cottage is perfect for Alton Towers. Coming from a congested city (London)this is exactly what we needed - peace, fresh air and the sounds of "mooing" at 7am! It sure beats the sound of horning by angry motorists! All in all, a perfect retreat. A beautiful and well equipped and well furnished cottage. Thanks for everything.
Jeeva family August 2014.
Chestnut Cottage is a lovely clean, self catering cottage. The kitchen is fully equipped and Beth & Glyn ensure you are really well looked after. The information books for the area were very helpful with spare leaflets. You have put a lot of time, thought and effort into what your guests may need. Thank you for a lovely stay - your accommodation caters well for manual wheelchair users too. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Thank you
Colin, Stuart & Iris, August 2014
We have had a wonderful, relaxing break at this beautiful cottage. Everything you could possible need is provided. The eggs, bread and milk were lovely as were all the extras we have not received (or expected) at previous self catering places. It's a great base for Alton Towers, Peak District and Stoke. Enjoyed a lovely day at Trentham Gardens and Matlock as well as a full on day at Alton Towers, we were glad of the dryer after a wet ride on the log flume!!! We will definitely be back when we visit the area again and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you for a great stay - it went far too quick!
Cathryn, Andy & Imogen August,2014
We have had a fantastic time during our stay. The cottage exceeded our expectations in every way. It's been a great base to come back to & relax after two hectic days at Alton Towers. We will definitely stay again if back in the area & will certainly recommend to friends . We got a very warm welcome & the bread, eggs & milk were a lovely surprise. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Kirsti, Nigel, Liam & Nathan August 2014
Have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in with all the extras included. Well situated for Alton Towers and all the other places we have visits. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would love to stay again in the future. Thank you.
Nicola, Joe, Daniel and Michael Jult,2014
We stayed for 3 nights. I can only echo what has been previously written. Really appreciated the little extras that were hereon our arrival. The cottage was superbly layed out, even out teenager daughter wants to come back. Thanks for all your help and making us feel welcome.
Whealer family July,2014
Stayed here for 2 nights whilst we visited Alton Towers. So glad we found this place whilst searching the internet one night as the cottage has made our trip[ extra special (beats a Travelodge anyday) The kids have loved sleeping upstairs in the "den" and have even put in a request for one to be made back home. Beth is a lovely woman who provides a very warm welcoming, we have never stayed anywhere before where we have been provided with milk, eggs and bread on arrival. Will definitely recommend to friends & family and would love to return ourselves one day.
Tannahil family,June 2014
Thank you for your warm welcome and lovely hospitality. Our stay has been nothing short of perfect and we would love to stay again. Thanks for putting so much care into providing excellent, homely, accessible accommodation. You've done an outstanding job!
McKay family, June 2014
We loved it here! Your hospitality was much appreciated and the information provided was very useful. The calm and peaceful surroundings were just what we needed and we enjoyed watching the calves playing across the way. Thank you for providing such a lovely place to stay. Thanks also for the eggs, bread and milk. We hope we'll be back one day.
Barbara & Dion, Australia May.2014
Thank you for a lovely break at Chestnut Cottage. The cottage is very well presented and you have been very helpful hosts. P.S. sorry to have missed the calving. Good luck with that!
Carmel,Christine,Rachel and Paul April 2014
We have had a great stay here. An ideal place to stay for a trip to Alton Towers. We were really warm and cosy, the boys were delighted with their "man-cave" upstairs. Cannot fault the cottage in any way. We had a lovely meal in the Royal Oak in Dilhorne which is inly a 5 minute drive away. Many thanks for the eggs, milk & bread. See you again sometime.
Andrew, April, Kieren and Lewis Oct,2013
Came to Stoke for a wedding "exceptional" of my niece. Only had 2 nights here but everything was brilliant. Chestnut Cottage is very clean, comfortable and most important comfortable. For 2 foggies with body bits going south etc this is a rarity to find. Many thanks Beth and Glyn for the milk, eggs, bread and for your hospitality. Would definitely like another visiy. Lovvvvvvvvvvved the mezzanine(?)Regrads
Linda & Ken Sept. 2013
Thank you for the lovely stay, the 3 days that we stayed made life easy, we were well looked after. Thank you again, we will be back.
Hilary, Carol and Sue, Sept. 2013
Second lovely stay, everything as nice as before-weather even better - only rained one day!! Many thanks to you both - esp. loved all the little "extras" Beth provided in cottage.
Steve and Wendy, Sept.2013
Thanks you for being so welcoming and making us feel at home Everything that we could have needed is catered for, made life easy for us with a 2 year old. Thank you for the local area info too. Would definitely stay again if visiting the area. Best wishes
Hannah, Shane & Madison , August 2013
Betha & Glyn, you are warm wonderful people and have this cottage so homely and lovely we could move in all year round. We have been staying all over England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and France but this is by far the best. Thank you for the most wonderful stay.
George and Heather, Northumberland, Sept. 2013
Thank you Beth a wonderful host, a very pleasant stay and I'm sure we will visit when we retuen to UK. Great value and an awesome cottage.
Grant & Stacy, Ravenswood, Australia, Sept. 2013
Thank you Beth for making my stay such a rest. I really appreciated all your help and advice  on what to do and see. Will take fond memories back with me of lovely Beech Cottage.
Janine, Leicestershire August, 2013
Alas we come to the end of this year's visits. Five whole months before we return, almost too long but well worth the wait. Thank you to Summerhill.
Joan and Stan, Ontario, Canada, August 2013
Our fifth visit (I think). Lovely weather and walks down Manifold Valley. Grand to be back.
Chris & Frank. August 2013
Perfect little cottage for our 1st anniversary weekend. Wonderful views, fantastic host and the cottage had everything we needed. I can see us coming back, for a whole week next time! Thank you! xx
Beth & Steve, Chelmsford, August, 2013
Thank you for making our visit so wonderful. You are a frieldnly and gracious hostess. Great little cottage with everything. We wish you the best always....
BJ and Frank, Port Angeles, USA July 2013
First visit - but we will be back! Made most welcome by Beth and thoroughly enjoyed our eggs on toast courtesy of her hens. The cottage made a great base to visit Foxfield Heritage Railway which we can highly recommend. Very comfortable stay in this first class accommodation - truly a "home from home". See you next spring!!!
Hilary and Nigel, Bristol, July 2013
Our third visit - won't be our last - says it all! Wedgwood Museum/Saxon Hoard (in City Museum) both fascinating & worth goint to. Thank you Beth and Glyn for a relaxing (too short) break.
Ann & Andrew, East Yorkshir July, 2013
The website should carry a warning, "visitors beware, Summerhill is addictive and the Plant family irresistably friendly" Nigh on impossible to stay away.
Joan and Stan, Ontario, Canada July 2013
 The best place I have stayed on my 14 month, weekly theatre tour of the UK! I didn't want to leave! I will definately be back either for work or pleasure. Many thanks
Richard, London June 2013
 Fantastic place to stay with all the comforts of home. Great location to explore this part of England. Very peaceful and lovely sunsets. Wonderful hosts, thanks for the milk, eggs, bread & flowers. Wish we could stay longer!
Bill and Robyn, Jewells, NSW Australia 2013
 Lovely to be back - had excellent week of relaxation, everything here we needed (including the weather!) Home from home without the pressures & thank you for the warm welcome.
P.S. Meal and welcome at White Lion excellent.
Peter and Avril, Leicstershire, March, 2013
 We've always appreciated Beth and Glyn's gift of making guests feel at home, but twelve inches of snow was priceless!!!! Thank you for everything, particularly the "dig out". See you in the summer
Joan and Stan, Ontario, Canada January 2013
 Thanks again - told you we would be back! Trust calving goes OK. Expect will be back again.
Nick and Trudy, Worcestshire, January 2013
 Thanks for a lovely stay. Cottage was great, warm and clean and cosy. Everything you needed and lovely personal touches, and a warm welcome. We will be back.
Nick and Trudy, Worcestershire, December,2012
 Just what the doctor ordered, peace and quiet. We've had a lovely time, even the apalling weather allowed us time to get our for a walk. The cottage itself is very well appointed, everything we could have wanted, clean and warm,. Thank you for the tea/coffee/milk etc and the warm welcome.
Jane & David, Wiltshire, 2012
 A lovely few days here - only one thoroughly wet one and Dimmingsdale looked lovely in the damp with glimmers of sunlight and the Manifold Valley, beautiful with Autumn colours. A lone buzzard circled overhead. Off to the New Vic Theatre today to to see cousins.  Thank you for your warm cosy BeechCottage. We'll see you again soon.
Peter and Chris, Suffolk, October 2012
 Thanks Beth for a warm welcome, had a really lovely stay and the weather was great for October. Was really impressed with how well equipped the cottage was. We would definiately come back again soon as we didn't feel two days was long enough. Amazing weekend all round.
Nicola and Georgie 2012
 Delightful little cottage - with lovely hosts. The heavy snowfall before we arrived caused no inconvenience, but provided a pretty backdrop. A good base to explore Staffordshire and Derbushire. Many thanks for the good memories, good holiday and the bread, milk and eggs.
Pat and Kerry, Sydnye, Australia 2013
 Warm and cosy, well equipped. Eggs, bread, milk - v. thoughtful, thank you. Beautiful sunrise/sunset with cows/calves grazing - so peaceful.  Bridgmere Nursey & Garden World was lovely - if not a bit pricey (for Yorkshire folk ha ha) Trentham Monkey Forest - fab to see an endangered species thriving in this environment. Chestnut Conservation Centre (owls and otters) - well wworth a visit - yes we love anilmals! Be nice to call again..
Elaine and Phil, Bridlington, 2012
 Great country get-a-way. Lovely scenery and great cottage. Thank you for the warm welcome, especially the fresh milk, bread and eggs. We had a fantastic time.
Holly and Mark, Herefordshire, 2012
 Two weeks is not enough. Next time we'll have to stay for a "real" holiday. Thanks to Ollie and Georgia for the lesson in poultry management.
Joan & Stan, Ontario, Canada, August, 2012
 Fantastic place, peaceful and spotless as last time. We will be back. Many thanks.
Wendy and Tony, Hampshire, 2012
 It was only three days, wish it was three wekks! Thanks for the stay, your hospitality and fantastic accommodation.
Pearson, Monster, Holland 2012
 Just wonderful - think I might just move in permanently!! I wish....
Jane, Walsall, 2012
 Hey Beth, you've created a little gem here, so glad we stumbled over it. What a fabulous place to stay. Thank you for everything!
Alan & Jane, Castle Brom, 2012
 Thanks once more to the Plant clan. As usual the cottage was perfect, but the weather....! Perhaps someone will do something about it before August.
Joan & Stan Ontario, April,2012
 What a fantastic break we have had in a beautiful cottage. Have loved the peace and quiet and could have stayed much longer. Many thanks to Beth and family for making our stay so comfortable and for thinking of everything you could possibly need in a cottage! Already trying to plan our next visit.. came on a recommendation and will be sure to recommend to others.
Jane & Matthew, Cullercoats, 2012
 Thank you Beth...wonderful base for sadly only one week. Would love to come again for purely leisure. Many thanks.
Peter, London 2012
 Thank you for your genuine hospitality. Your warm and friendly nature made us feel so welcome. A stay that was so much more than we expected. We will be back soon.....
Sacha and Alex, Birmingham 2012
 Lot of weather here, frost, snow, ice, rain and fog! Had a smashing time in the lovely cosy cottage and good walking, scramble and theatre (New Vic). See you soon.
Dale and Chris, Suffolk 2012
 Fantastic welcome and brilliant accommodation. We shall definately pass this on to friends and family and hope to return in the summer months for some walking....
Dave and Chris, Northern Cyprus 2012
 Warm welcome and fantastic accommodation. Many different things to do. Beech Cottage was very clean and cosy. Excellent place to stay.....
Vicki and Jason, Monmouth 2011
 Thank you for another lovely weekend; such a nice area to visit, just wish you could get some better weather. Thank you once again, hope to see you again, Bye for now.
The Spears, Cornwall. 2011
 Excellent, everything you need, spotless and fab views, will be coming again. Many, many thanks
Wendy & Tony, Hampshire 2011
 Wonderful welcome; beautiful, cosy cottage; lovely, friendly, welcome added touches. A lovely relaxing place to stay and be at peace from the madding crowd. Thank you for making my stay so gorgeous! I am just "down theroad" and will definitely be back for some more serious study and relaxing, soon. :)
Amanda, 2011
 A home from home, but with a much better view! Comfort, pleasure and adventure, particularly the ride on Glyn's tractor. Sadness, the white cows calf! Summerhill has not seen the last of us. Merci.
Joan & Stan Ontario, 2011
 Great place to stay. The cottage has everything you could think of and was lovely and clean. It made a great stop on our way from Scotland back home to Dorset. Thank you.
Paul, Hannah & Tess 2011
 We have stayed here a few times when visiting family and friends. Always brilliantly kept and a pleasure to stay here. We would recommend it to anyone.
Ellie and Rob 2011
 Though our stay here was very brief, we enjoyed it immensely. Beth was a dream, like an instant best friend. Can't wait to stay here again. So relaxing. xxx
Dale and Tash 2011
 Thank you for a brilliant stay. The cottage was perfect and we felt right at home here. We will definitely recomment this place to our freinds and family back home.xxx
Claire and Chris 2011
 Really enjoyed our stay, will be coming again, would recommend to others. Thank you for making us so welcome. Lovely cottage and views.
Becky and David 2011
 We very much enjoyed your hospitality. A really well fitted out cottage with a beautiful view. Oyr stay has been excellent. Little touches like fresh flowers and breakfast supplies really appreciated.
Helen & Adam 2011
 Stopped in Beech Cottage for 5 weeks. Everything you can want here, very pleasant. Beth and her husband areso nice, will do anything they can to please you.
Chris and Dennis 2011
 Really lovely cottage, beautiful & modern. Lovely views. Thanks for making us feel so welcome. Would recommend.
Sophie & Gemma 2010
 lovely,lovely cottage. Really fantastic place to stay. Nice + peaceful, good walking + ever so friendly.
Josephine + Jonathan 2010
 Our stay in Chestnut Cottage has been great. The cottage is Perfect! Everything has been thought of and it was lovely to come back every night and feel like it was returning home. You made us feel very welcome.
Kearns family 2011
 It's been wonderful to come back to Chestnut Cottage on an evening and have all the home comforts. You have made us more than welcome, we fell we have known you for some time you have both been soooo lovely thank you.
The Graziers 2011
 We had a fantastic time and your cottage was a home from home only better.
Michael and Iris McCarthy 2011
 Thanks for a fantastic week. The cottage was perfect.
The Woods and Watsons 2011
 This really was just what we wanted. The cottage is lovely and the places we visited were vert therapeutic in spite of the rain!
Sylvia and Gordon 2011
 Plenty to do and see in the locality even in the rain!
Tracy & Rob 2011
 The cottage is just perfect and your hospitality was greatly appreciated. Will definitely be recommending to all Had a truly wonderful break. Many thanks.
Sita and John 2011
 The cottage is very nice, clean and well presented. We enjoyed the area, very quiet at night and not too far from Alton Towers, which the family enjoyed.
The Spears 2010
 The cottage is a very nice escape from cold days. Will be recommending to friends and returning in future. Thanks
Stuart and David 2010
What can we say about our hosts Beth and Glyn? We came as guests and left as friends.
Dave and Wendy June 2010
Wonderfully clean, modern and cosy cottage with great landlords and spectacular area to visit. Thank you.
Sue and Peter 3.1.09
Very quiet, peaceful retreat. The perfect break from a hectic life.
Ali and Joe 28.12.08